Key Indicators

  • Area: 2.586 km2
  • Population: 523 thousand inhabitants (Resident population estimate 2013)
  • Population Density: 202,2 hab./Km2 (Estimated 2013)
  • Currency: Euro
  • Language: The "letzeburgisch" (Luxembourgish) is the national language since 1985, with French and German being also official languages. English is widely spoken
  • Credit Risk: Country "not classified" in the OECD country risk table. The system of minimum premiums shall not apply.
  • Main Cities: Capital: Luxembourg City (94 thousand inhabitants in 2010) | Other important cities: Esch-sur-Alzette; Differdange; Dedelange; Pétange; Sanem
  • Religion: The majority of the population is Christian; about 87% are Roman Catholic and a minority is Protestant, Jewish and Muslim
  • Government: Form of State: Constitutional Monarchy | Head of State: Grand Duke Henri | Albert Félix Marie Guillaume (since October 2000) | Prime Minister: Jean-Claude Juncker (of the CSV party, with a coalition government with the LSAP party forming on June 7, 2009)

Informations and Documents